Paper

 

Mouths are beautiful

The simplicity of the curves and lines

That make up a person’s character

Mouths define

Emotions, thoughts

Wishes, prayers

Hearts

Whispered through the soft pink lips

Creased and folded with smiles

And that’s why I fold my tips

into origami shapes

For the sake of a smile

Because those beautiful lines on the sides

Of your mouth

That you let stay even after you laugh

Prove you are immune to the ignorance

Of media

To the anti-age propaganda

Wanting you to believe that to be happy

Is not what you really want

Because you could crack the powdered smooth face of youth

That wasn’t yours in the first place

And last night I dreamed of a paper moon

Taking up the whole of the sky

Full and bright and confident

And the whole time I reached out for it

All I wanted was to stroke the light

The curves

Because they looked like the creases of a familiar face

And that made me smile

About Sage

I am a writer, photographer, painter, dancer, actor, ARTIST. Please bear with me as I struggle through my final years of adolesence....

Posted on November 29, 2011, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great Post! I will certainly be visiting again. Looking forward to more.

  2. Thanks a heap for this post, glad to see there are still some excellent writers around the web!

Leave a Reply

